Arkansas Custody
Secondary MENU

Arkansas Custody

Arkansas custody is easy to understand once you know how the system really works.

And that's too bad, because what the politicians in Little Rock tell you about child custody in Arkansas isn't necessarily accurate.

The system isn't nearly as fair as they'd lead you to believe.

If you look at the child custody guidelines in Arkansas, you'll see references to "primary caretaker" and "more qualified" parent.

What's not listed in any of the official guidelines are all the intangible criteria actually used to determine child custody in the real world.

If you and your spouse are unable to establish a child custody arrangement, then the Arkansas of Arkansas decides where your children live.

The determination of child custody begins with the filing of a motion at your local county family law courthouse.

At some point, the county will assign a Arkansas custody evaluator who will meet with the parties involved; including the school, doctors, etc.

The county will conduct an evaluation to establish which of the two of you is the best parent for your children.

The process begins with an evaluation performed by an assigned evaluator.

You'll also likely be subjected to a psychological profile and at the end of this process, the custody evaluator writes a report and submits it to family court.

The completed evaluation report will be sent to you.

Most people believe custody is determined by the judge, when in fact custody is determined by an evaluator, not the judge.

The judge will simply read the evaluators report and rubber stamp it, because the judge knows very little about you, your spouse, your children, or your family setting.

The evaluator on the other hand has conducted extensive research and issues a report, so there's no way the judge is going to overrule the evaluators recommendation.

In a highly contested dispute, a judge will order the guardian ad litem to protect the children's interests during the custody evaluation.

The guardian ad litem doesn't decide custody, but acts as a advocate for the children to ensure their interests are protected while the parents argue about custody.

The guardian ad litem can be a lawyer or social worker as long as they are approved by the court and there are private guardians along with public ones employed by your local Arkansas county.

Private guardians charge from $50 per hour to $400, where a public guardian ad litem will generally charge less.

It's typical for spouses to share the cost of the guardian ad litem.

If you can't afford a guardian, often one will be provided free of change.

If you want your Arkansas custody case executed properly, Matt O'Connell's divorce guide is the ultimate resource for you. Matt O'Connell is the leading expert on the Internet and has been providing divorce advice in Arkansas since 2005.

Matt is the leading expert on the Internet and has been providing divorce advice since 2005.

In his guide, he details the entire divorce process and common pitfalls.

Even if you're using a attorney, his advice will still save you thousands and get you a better result.

So Click Here to give Matt's advice a try.